Abbeydale wins Club of the Year 2015

Share this

                                                            Abbeydale wins CLUB OF THE YEAR again !

On November 13th 2015, Abbeydale Tennis Club was awarded the prestigious award of Sheffield & District Lawn Tennis Association Club of The Year for 2015.

The 2015 S & D President Kay Rollings acknowledged Abbeydale won the award in 2015 for  ( Quote ) “ it’s history, ( formed 123 years ago in 1892 ) being one of the six Clubs that started the leagues that year, plus being a very well run & welcoming Club. The Club of The Year has also dominating The Men’s First Division over the last 25 years, winning more titles than any other Club, plus in the 2015 season winning The Rowlinson Cup, The Men’s 1st Division and The Men’s 4th Division Championship.“

Men’s First Team Captain Josh Gledden collected the award on behalf of The Club ( Pictured Above )

The Club would like to thank all members who represented Abbeydale in 2015, but especially The Team Captains who have a largely thankless task of ensuring their teams have the correct number of players, organising match practices, informing players they have / haven’t been selected and match travel arrangements etc. and all in a voluntary capacity as well as playing in the matches themselves. The teams couldn’t run without all the captains and so on behalf of both The Club and players a huge thank you to you all !

With teams getting promoted to higher divisions, it’s harder each year to win titles, but we’ll keep working hard and hopefully in 2016 we’ll once again win our share of trophy's and be in contention for Club of The Year again !!

Well done all at Abbeydale Tennis Club !!!   -  Sheffield & District LTA Club of The Year 2015