BERKSWELL AND BALSALL COMMON TENNIS CLUB ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING (AGM)

Date Wednesday, 15th November 2023

Time 19:30 Location BBCTC

Invitees All BBCTC Members

1. Opening of Meeting and Apologies

Craig Nash opened the meeting by welcoming all attendees.

Apologies were received in advance of the meeting from Alan Dick, Brenda Green, Bob Harris, Peter Brough, Anthony Morris and Patrick Parry-Evans.

The Register of Attendees was as attached. A quorum was present.

2. Agreement on Minutes of AGM held on 14th November 2022

The minutes were agreed by all members in attendance on this basis. Approved by Pam Brown Seconded by Helen Atherton

3. Matters arising

None

4. Reports on activities for year ended 31st August 2023 – All reports are on the club website.

4.1 End of year accounts Judith Thomas

Approved by Astrid Westall Seconded by Paul Foster

Questions were asked by Helen Atherton about the Sports Association costs and by John Dallow about whether floodlight token costs should increase to match the increase in energy costs.

Angela Stuart-Smith raised a recent Residents Association e-mail regarding the availability of grants. Alex Nurse asked about the possibility of raising grant funding from HS2 following the successful application by the cricket club. Chris Rhodes advised the meeting that grant applications are quite nuanced and require significant work, which the committee members don't have the time to invest. An external person has been approached to carry out work on our behalf to assess grant opportunities and complete the application process, in return for a success fee deducted from funds raised.

4.2 Membership Matt Quinn

4.3 Chairman's Report Chris Rhodes

4.4 Other Reports

The following reports were posted on the club website prior to the AGM and were summarised within the Chairman's Report:

Tournaments Dave Green
Sports Association Dave Green
Men's League Teams Harry Malone
Ladies League Teams Sarah Kirk
Juniors & Coaching Stuart Davoile
Club Sessions Matt Dunn

5. Election of Officers and Committee

5.1 President

Nomination is Pam Brown

Proposed: Matt Dunn

Seconded: Angela Stuart-Smith

5.2 Vice-Presidents

Vice- Presidents Nominations en-bloc:

Peter Nurse
Astrid Westall
Jane Hare-Scott
Barry Standley
Brenda Green
Alan Dick
Maureen Milnes
Bob Harris
Angela Stuart-Smith

Proposed: Alex Nurse Seconded: Sarah Kirk

5.3 Committee Members

The election of all committee members was made as a single block election. A communication was sent to the members ahead of the meeting of the intention to conduct the election in this way. Members were given the opportunity to raise any objections by submitting them to the Secretary up to 14 days prior to the AGM. No objections were received.

Officers and Committee members elected:

Chair - Chris Rhodes
Vice-Chair - Paul Foster
Secretary - Craig Nash
Treasurer - Judith Thomas
Membership Secretary - Matt Quinn
Ladies Captain - Sarah Kirk
Men's Captain - Harry Malone

General Committee Members - Dave Green, Karen Morris, Jo Brattle, Matt Dunn

Proposed: Helen Atherton Seconded: Hilary Brattle

Helen Atherton raised a vote of thanks for the efforts of all the volunteers above on behalf of the members.

6. AOB

Angela Stuart-Smith raised a point that a request made at the 2022 AGM, to move the defibrillator at The Lant to be on the outside wall rather than in the lobby, had not been actioned.

Chris Rhodes advised that this was raised with the Sports Association, who have responsibility for the maintenance and upkeep of the building. The Sports Association provided the tennis club with a detailed response during the year. Moving the defibrillator outdoors would require it to be kept in a heated box, which would require additional maintenance and costs. It was therefore decided by the Sports Association that the defibrillator would remain in its current location.

John Dallow kindly raised that he might be willing to pay for an external defibrillator. He was directed to the Sports Association.

Chris also mentioned that, while the situation isn't ideal, the building is unlocked from 10am each morning and that anyone without the entry code can obtain this from the 999 operator.

No other business was raised.

The meeting was closed at approximately 20.40.

Meeting Attendees

Chris	Rhodes	Graham	Mather
Paul	Foster	Juliet	Mather
Judith	Thomas	John	Dallow
Craig	Nash	Alex	Nurse
Matt	Quinn	Pamela	Brown
Dave	Green	Angela	Stuart-Smith
Harry	Malone	Astrid	Westall
Sarah	Kirk	Helen	Atherton
Stuart	Davoile	Sally	Chadwick
Jo	Brattle	Hilary	Brattle
Matt	Dunn	Ann	Parker
Karen	Morris		