TRURO LAWN TENNIS CLUB - ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Saturday 2nd December 2023
Minutes of Meeting

Present:

Graham Whiteley, Mary Whiteley, Ryan Fern, Joel Fern, Ella Fern, Gwynedd Haslock, Roz Hibbert, Celia Hilman, Caroline Blake, Helen Wright, Joan Thomas, Mary Jeliffe, Kieran Trewhella, Judith Ward, Mark Stubbs, Jo Temple, Davina Bohane, James Tucker, Theresa Kirk, Martin Rodda, Toni Webb, Annabel Mackinley, Dick Butter, Sue Hall plus one more.

1. Apologies

Giles Williams, Monica Derrick, Keith Clement and Peter Wilkening

2. Approval of AGM Minutes 2022

Approved. Proposed by Caroline Blake and seconded by Mary Jeliffe

3. Matters Arising

None

4. Chair's Report

Graham Whiteley took the role of Chair due to the recent resignation of David Denning who had been elected Chair at the 2022 AGM. Graham referred to this resignation but as the previous Chair was not present Graham requested that whoever felt they wanted to discuss the matter to speak to him at the conclusion of the meeting.

5. Treasurer's Report

The club has approximately £74,000 in reserves. Club subs were in the region of £27,000. Senior membership is stable whereas Junior membership is slightly down including those enrolled in the junior programme. The main deficit in finances related to the Lavazza hot drinks machine installed in April of this year. The accountants moved the rental of this to the Equipment Hire column for simplicity. Several other items in the Francis Clark's columns didn't line up correctly so it appeared as if the club had a large amount of money in the Cyril Holmes account which was not correct. Members asked about the Lavazza vending machine and its annual costs to the club which are in the region of £1,700 per annum without factoring in electricity costs. It was agreed by the members present for the committee to look into the costs involved to remove the Lavazza machine. Under Repairs and Renewals in the accounts were the purchase of a new shed, a new battery for the defibrillator and new nets for courts. Other costs were the LTA fees. Overall the club covered its costs this year but the issue of replacing some or all of the courts needs addressing.

Proposal 1: The accounts be accepted and approved. This was proposed by Sue Hall and seconded by Jo Temple

Proposal 2: Francis Clark LLP be re-elected as honorary accountants Proposed by Mark Stubbs and seconded by James Tucker

6. Subscriptions 2024/2025

Proposal 3: It was proposed the fees remained at their present level as they had been raised last year to fund the court refurbishment plan. However, as this had not yet taken place and also with an acknowledgment of the cost of living crisis, the committee had felt it would be possible to put on hold a fee increase for this year.

Proposed by James Tucker and seconded by Roz Hibbert

7. Election of Officers and Committee Members

Graham Whiteley as temporary Chair addressed the situation of the club having no nominations for the role of Chair. It was suggested that Helen Wright acted as interim Chair until such time as a member put themselves forward for the role. Roz Hibbert is stepping down after ten years as Membership Secretary. Simon Cooper has also stood down as a committee member due to work commitments.

Proposal 4: the following be elected as Officers and Committee Members:

Interim Chair: Helen Wright
Honorary Treasurer: Helen Wright
Honorary Secretary: Judith Ward
Honorary Membership Secretary: Jo Temple

Committee: Caroline Blake, Richard Tonkin, Mary Whiteley, Giles Williams, Kieran Trewhella and Jo

Temple

Trustees: Graham Whiteley, Peter Wilkening, Helen Wright and Chris Waters

Chair proposed by: Mary J and seconded by Caroline Blake
New Membership Secretary proposed by: Mark Stubbs and seconded by Celia Webster
New Committee Members proposed by: Martin Rodda and seconded by Gwynedd H.

8. A.O.B

- (i) Roz Hibbert asked if there was anything in the constitution or LTA which prevented the chair from holding another role on the committee. Nothing had been found.
- (ii) As the role of Chair and Treasurer was a dual role it was decided that the issue of investigating court surfaces and any relevant research would be undertaken by a sub-committee who would report back to the main committee with their findings to be voted on. This would free up the chair to concentrate on administrative matters. This sub-committee would consist of Ryan Fern and Mark Stubbs to start with. Other members with relevant knowledge were asked to volunteer on this team.
- (iii) Ryan Fern thanked all the captains of the club teams this year. The Men A won, the B were second, the C third in their respective leagues whilst the D won promotion to Division 1 after finishing runners up and the E came seventh. The Ladies A were third, the B second and the C gained promotion after finishing second. In the Men's National League the men's over 35s came in the top four in the country whilst Claire Hudson represented GB in the over 45s. Ella Fern and Will Stirling won most improved juniors in the county and we had both junior and senior representatives at county team level. Matt Upon has also been accepted onto the Patrick Mouratoglou Academy in France.

The meeting closed at 4.28pm.