Awards Night 2024.

The Derbyshire awards evening returned, after a three year break, on March the 8th 2024.

The event was held at Derbyshire County Cricket Ground and hosted 250 people from across the Derbyshire Tennis Community. It was amazing to see players from some many clubs, including the very youngest age of 5yrs old, right the way through to our veteran legends. 

The Awards Evening managed to break even, with the kind sponsorship from the DTA League & the Finance Advice Centre Ltd. Alongside this, the generosity from our community in support of the Raffle also raised over £1000. 

To help bring the event to life, a special mention must go to BalloonzUK for the decor, the band DUSK for their live performance and to ThreeSixSevenNine Photography for capturing such a fantastic evening. 

This event was a great success but would not have happened with out the support of the Management Committee and one of Derbyshire Tennis’s best supporters, Mr Rob Salmon. A massive thank you also goes to Rob Hawkins & his team at DTC for taking on such a big admin roll in making everything run smoothly. 

We plan to bring this back as an annual event,  and to make it even bigger and better.

Katy Wilson


Derbyshire LTA Tennis Awards

Nominations for the 2025 LTA Awards open on 1st October and close on 30th November, 2024

The annual LTA Tennis Awards highlight the incredible achievements and contributions of people in tennis across Britain.

Launched in 2015 with the help of former LTA President Cathie Sabin OBE, the awards recognise the many thousands of inspirational individuals involved in tennis who dedicate their precious time and energy; 25,000 volunteers, 6,000 coaches and c. 1000 officials. They also highlight the incredible achievements of some 22,000 schools, 13,000 LTA registered venues and over 9,000 LTA-approved tournaments. The contribution of these individuals and venues helps to bring fans and players closer to the game we all love.


Derbyshire Tennis Association Award Winners 2024:

Award Category


Club of the Year

Derbyshire Tennis Centre

Development Coach of the Year

Duncan Coates

Performance Coach

Tom Rushby

Connecting Communities

Derbyshire Tennis Centre

Park Venue of the Year

Not awarded

Competition of the Year

Not awarded

Tennis for All Award

Chesterfield Tennis Club

School of the Year

Repton School

University of the Year

Not awarded.

Lifetime Acheivement

Not awarded.

Official of the Year

Hossain Shahidullah

Volunteer of the Year

Matt Cassar

Rising Star

Stan Salmon

Tennis For All Award

Not awarded

LTA President’s Award

Not awarded

Women’s Player

Hollie Kok.

Men’s Player

Seb Harrison

Girls Player

Casey Mauro

Boys Player

Warren Hu

Veteran Player

Jane Rushby

Club Player 

Ros Pioli

Assistant Coach

Kath Burton

County Team

Derbyshire Ladies

Outstanding Acheivement

Abbie Breakwell