About Us (COVID-19 update)

About Us (COVID-19 update)

COVID-19   Important Update

We have agreed and provide the following guidance to our members during this challenging time.


The Clubhouse is open with clear signage regarding use. Thanks to all members for complying with the requests and keeping us all safe.

Hale LTC Committee


Our Proud History

Hale Lawn Tennis Club is over 100 years old and we are greatly indebted to the hard work and considerable expertise which has come from members over more than ten decades and which has helped create the success which the Club enjoys today.

Our team success is unrivalled in the local area and we are very proud of the many league and cup successes we have achieved. 

Current Day

We continue to have a thriving team and social calendar - please see our scheduled list of forthcoming events on the EVENTS page.  If team tennis is your thing then please see our TEAM TENNIS page which provides details of the many teams and contact details to get involved.

We are a friendly club so please just pop down and see us  - our coaching staff and members are almost always on site and will be happy to help. 

Our Committee

Our club is owned by the members and we elect a committee to help run the club.  Our current committee members are listed below:

Martyn Smith - President.  Martyn has been our Club President since 2017 and joined the tennis club with his family in 2012.  As President his role is to ensure the club has a strategic plan which supports both short and long term success.  Martyn is a regular social and team tennis player.

Georgie Timothy - Secretary.  Gerogie as our club secretary ensures the committee conducts its business within the rules set down in the club constitution which includes the organising and recording of all committee meetings and our AGM.   Outside of the committee Georgie plays team and social tennis and has the unenviable task of organising our annual tournament.

Adrian Cartwright-Bain - Treasurer. Adrian ensures the finances of the club are appropriately managed.  Adrian also organises our annual Wimbledon Ballot and outside of the committee Adrian plays an active part in social and team tennis.

Andy Tattersall - Club Captain.  Andy has taken on the role of Club Captain since 2018.  Andy leads a dedicated sub-committee made up of the team captains and coaches who meet 3-4 times a year to plan and organise our team tennis. 

Kevin Smith - Membership and Communications.  Kevin has been a member at Hale since 1996 and joined the committee in 2018 to lead our communications. From 2019 Kevin has taken on the role of Membership Secretary.  He also plays an active role in our social and team tennis. 

Mary Timothy - Committee Member, Estate Maintenance and Welfare Officer. Mary has served on the committee in a variety of roles over many years. Currently Mary has responsibility for ensuring we have appropriate arrangements in place for the maintenance of the facilities whihc includes the clubhouse, courts and grounds.  Mary is also our dedicated Welfare Officer. 

Halina Dawson - Committee Member.  Halina has been a member at Hale for many years and joined the Committee in 2020. She has taken on specific roles including Health and Safety matters

Mark Furness - Head Coach.  Mark is a Level 5 LTA qualified coach and has been our Head Coach for over 25 years. Mark takes responsibility for ensuring our tennis programme is full and varied and appeals to our wide membership base. 

Please see the CONTACT US web page for all contact details.


In May 2009 we gained accreditation under the LTA’s Tennis Clubmark.

This is a mark of excellence earned by clubs which, in the opinion of the LTA, demonstrate that they are well managed and have a comprehensive coaching and tennis programme for all members.

Tennis Clubmark requires of accredited clubs that they observe best practice in all matters related to the protection and safeguarding of children. This is a matter of great importance to the Club.