Club Championships Finals

Over the weekend 16/17 September, the finals of our annual championship tournament were played. The weather was challenging but the competition was good. For full results go to ‘EVENTS’, ‘CLUB CHAMPS’ on this website.

You will see below photos from some of the events. Details regarding each are below:

1. Men’s Open Singles Final - Mark McPeake, pictured on the left, beat Josh Spurling in a hard-hitting match. Mark has been a serial winner of this event, his first success being in 1983. Considering this remarkable fact, he may have lost some of his pace (that is what he tells us) but his skill remains evident and was needed to cope with Josh’s big game.

2. Ladies Open Singles Final - The winner Kate Mabbott, pictured left, won the event for a second time in a punishing match, beating a serial winner of this event, and last year’s champion, Sue Trousdale.

3. Men’s Playback Final - In an energetic match which could not have been any closer, 11 – 9 in the deciding championship tie break, club stalwart, Chris Grey, on the left, prevailed against recently welcomed, Djordje Jakovljevic.

4. Men’s Open Doubles - Pictured left to right is Stephen Hall, his son Dominic, Matty Cooper and Josh Spurling.The Halls/Stephen and Dominic took the first, were close in the second set, and the third which was a Championship tie break, before succumbing to Matty and Josh in three sets. Rumour has it that Stephen Hall had said that this would be his last tournament. After this year’s performance, he may change his mind!

5. Ladies Open Doubles - Pictured left to right is Rachel Watterson, Suzie Horn, Kate Mabbott and Sue Trousdale. Kate and Sue beat Suzie and Rachel. At one set all, Kate and Sue, using their experience, eased away in the deciding championship tie break but Suzie and Rachel enjoyed the contest and are looking forward to challenging next year.


Some Junior Finalists are pictured below:

Millie Aitken (winner 10 & under girls), Oliver Aitken (runner up 14 & under boys)

Archie Mackie (10 & under boys winner)