Annual Awards 2016

Share this

Awards Presentation

The 2016 Annual Awards Presentation and Dinner was held at the Wheatsheaf, Beetham on Friday 18th November, organised by Margaret Hesmondhalgh and Clive Pollard.  40 people, including many juniors and their parents, enjoyed a 3 course meal and a fun Christmas song quiz, followed by the presentations.

Photos from the evening can be seen here - in addition to this photo of Jon Griffin, receiving his well deserved Cumbria County Coach of the Year award.  The long list of Junior awards that were made are largely due to his and Max's coaching over the years and are listed below.

Junior Individual Highlights

Joseph McLaughlin—Accepted onto Regional Training Programme

Tomas Grime—Lancashire U10 Boys Doubles Champion

James Griffin ranked No.3 2004 in Great Britain / Won 7   Regional Grade 3 Titles

Harriet Glaves—Road to Wimbledon County Champion / County Mixed Doubles Champion

Harrison Savage—Winner of 3 Counties Doubles Titles

Louis Glaves—Winner of 4 Counties Doubles Titles / Won Mens Regional Grade 3 Event / Tennis Scholarship to US University

Junior Club Tournament

U16 Boys Champion - Harrison Savage

U13 Boys Champion - James Griffin

U16 Girls Champion - Harriet Glaves

U10 Champion - Joseph McLaughlin

U9 Champion - Joseph McLaughlin

County Honours 2016

Harrison Savage, Harriet Glaves, Louis Glaves, Albert Glaves, James Griffin, Joseph Wilkinson, Joseph McLaughlin, Lottie Burns

Team Titles

U9 mixed—Aegon County Champions

U14 boys—Aegon County Champions

U18 boys—Aegon County Champions

George Walling Trophy for Most Improved Player of the Year - Harrison Savage



The Senior Awards were as follows, with the coveted award of the Sue Pollard Trophy for Club Person of the Year going to Rae Martin for all her efforts as captain of 2 teams for several years, clubhouse cleaning and behind the scenes contributions to the Club.

Kendal & District League Winners - Mens Division 1

Lancaster & Morecambe League Winners - Ladies League

Club Tournament

Ladies Singles Champion - Chris Tomlinson

Mens Singles Champion - James Griffin

Ladies Doubles Champions - Rae Martin & Chris Tomlinson

Mens Doubles Champions - Royden Davies & Graham Honeybone

Mixed Doubles Champions - Cathy Honeybone & Royden Davies

Mystery Mixed Champions - Andrew Casey & Clive Pollard

County Awards Evening

Cumbria Boy of the Year: Louis Glaves

Chris Fidler Memorial Trophy -U18 County Boys Team:

Captain, Jon Griffin;

Members: Louis Glaves, Albert Glaves, Joseph Wilkinson, Harrison Savage

Club Coach of the Year: Jon Griffin


Club Person of the Year - Rae Martin





Choose a Cumbria LTA venue to visit