2019 Members' Championship results

Share this

There was Pimms, tea, sandwiches and cakes and pastries, enjoyed by the many RLTC members who gathered on the terrace to enjoy the hard-fought Club Finals played on Sunday 21 July on our Tiger Turf and front grass courts. The day began overcast and cool, but warmed and brightened as the afternoon wore on and champions emerged. 

Special thanks go to Laura Ritchie, Tournament Director, for organising the competition and running things on the day (as well as umpiring and playing two finals!). Thanks also to her army of helpers who either umpired or assisted in other ways.  Please take a bow: Cat Macfarlane, Sue Manley, Dan Williams, Charles Soden-Bird, Laura King, Adrian Guerrero, Andy Jenkins, Olly Pimblett, Penny Maunder, David Howell (with hat), Liam Clarke and Monty Pathan.

Also thanks to Max and Polina Ivanushkin who managed the arduous task of doing the draw and gave generous help to Laura throughout the championships (and Max did his turn in the umpire's chair); Kisanga Devendra who organised a group of local businesses to give their support, including prizes for the finalists; head coach Michael Jones who umpired the Men's Singles Final and conducted the trophy presentations; the ODP grounds staff who did a great job bringing the front grass courts to tournament conditions: they looked lush, with the lines freshly painted.

But principally, thanks to all our finalists who played their hearts out on the day.  Here  is the full roll-call of RLTC Club Champions for 2019.

Ladies Singles Final   
Carmen Cacicedo d. Lee Burns. 6-1, 6-4

Mens Singles Final
Tom Smith d. Sam Barnes  6-1, 4-6, 6-3

Ladies Doubles Final 
Carmen Cacicedo and Sophie Weedon d. Laura Ritchie and Lee Burns  6-1, 6-1

Mens Doubles Final                                      
Antoine Decottignies and Iain Ure d. Nic Lasalvia and Manoj Krishnamurthy  6-2, 6-2

Mixed Doubles Final                                      
Josefin Halden and Tom Smith d. Laura Ritchie and Iain Ure  6-4, 7-6

Improvers Mixed Doubles (round robin)                               
Winners: Rose O’Callaghan and Ross Muir, whose 2 victories from 2 matches included a dramatic champions tie-break win (11-9) over defending champions and 2019 runners-up Lisa and Gavin Dunne.
Also thanks to Jilly MacPherson and David Phillips

Ladies Veterans Doubles Final                                
Lee Burns and Sandra Aldridge d. Anne Farrow and Meeya Armstrong  6-3, 6-2
Mens Veterans Doubles Final                      

Tony Hall and Tony Parker d. Tim Sheldrick and Richard Northern  6-1, 6-4 

Nic Lasalvia and Agustina Mackinlay d. Meeya Armstrong and Tony Voller  6-3, 3-6, 6-3

Thanks to everyone who came along to cheer on all our finalists and support this big day in the RLTC calendar.